Skip to content
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. My heart goes out to you because I relate so well. I took care of my father for one year alone, with no help, while he was dying from bone cancer. A week after we buried him, my brother had a heart attack, so I ended up taking care of him and five years later, I am still caring for him. He has heart problems, is mildly mentally challenged, and has Parkinson’s Disease, now in fifth stage. I do this totally alone, with no help from family and after two requests from our church, no help from them either, not even one hour for respite care so I can get out. I think the reasons are fear from my family, but the church, I don’t know. I do know that I have lost some faith, not in God, but in the church body itself. I am stressed out to the max most days as PD is a terrible thing to deal with. I hear him talk of death and wanting to die most days, there are plenty of tears and much sadness from him in this house. All in all, I would not give him up as long as I can do the work he needs, because he is family, so I write. I write a lot on here, including writing my first book, I journal our lives, I have a quote page and a music page. This is how I get through, plus I have many wonderful friends on here. Sorry this took so much of your space up, but I don’t talk to others, and then I let loose on here. LOL. God bless you and if you ever need to talk, feel free to reach out to me, or email me at tellmenolies2004@yahoo.com

    October 4, 2012
  2. Terry,

    Thank you so much for sharing your story as I know others reading this, who are in the same situation will gain insight and support from you. Your ability to use this blog as an outlet and for support is one of the very reasons we started it. I know it can’t be easy for you to care for your brother by yourself and I think you are remarkable for doing it! Keep strong.

    Patty

    October 4, 2012

Leave a Comment

